Kapiti Cycling Club

Spring Series Sponsored by:Howard Co Logo Black

Howdy everyone

Here's a brief rundown of the AGM and prizegiving evening.

The AGM was mainly about presenting the President's and Treasurer's reports.   

My president's report celebrates some of our successes but also deals a lot with the direction of the club and a way forward and focus for the year.

This sparked quite a lot of discussion and got people discussing the ideas around circuits and formats and prize money etc.

Please have a look at the document as it frames much of what we will be doing this year.   The calendar has been restructured and that is a key strategic change and a direct result of the process and outcomes related in the report. 

Click HERE to see the President's report.

Click HERE to see the Treasurer's report 

Click HERE to see the Minutes from the night.

And the formal part of the evening was followed by the prize-giving.  

Here are the details of the wonderful people who had a stella year.


Order of Ceremonies 2019

Hill Climb Women’s                      Dianna Borman (Last year Grace Saywell)              Certificate/Trophy

Hill Climb Men’s                            Mike Proudfoot (LY Mike Proudfoot)                    Certificate/Trophy


Summer Series went back to a handicapped event rather than graded like last year.  1st, 2nd and 3rd

              Men:  1 - Ian Fraser, 2 – Peter Wilkinson, 3 – John Rowlinson    

              Women:  1 – Dianna Borman, 2 – Lisa Horne, 3 – Katie Richards       


Junior Rider of the Year                                                                                                    Certificate /Trophy        

  • Last year: Grace Saywell
  • Winner: Not awarded…


Most Improved Woman                                                                                                    Certificate /Trophy

  • Last year: Lisa Horn
  • Winner: Katie Richards
  • Katie just goes from strength to strength while still learning the ins and outs of competing in a variety of events.          


Most Improved Man                                                                                                          Certificate /Trophy

  • Last year: Greg Cundy
  • Winner: Jason Gestro
  • Just an improved performer at higher end of proceedings


Club Spirit                                                                                                                             Certificate

  • The club spirit award is given to somebody who gives freely of their time to aid the club and generally goes above and beyond the call of duty.
  • Last year: Mick McKelvie
  • Special Mention: John Rowlinson
  • Winner: Tristan Ratcliffe
  • Tristan stepped up to be on the committee and has put in big hours doing course setup and takedown for both the Summer and Winter Series. He’s also taken on the race manager role a few times and has done it all in his calm and confident manner.


Stu Downs Inspirational Rider                                                                                        Certificate /Trophy

  • For someone who inspires us by their actions (just as Stu did)
  • (the trophy is a crank from Stu’s bike)
  • Last year: Peter Wilkinson
  • This award doesn’t have to be about doing something epic. This year it’s about inspiring others by consistently performing week in and week out, and doing it with a positive and cheerful and encouraging of others manner.  But there’s a touch of epic about this as well as Dave qualified for the half Ironman World Champs by coming 2nd in his hugely competitive age group at the Taupo 70.5 event.  
  • Winner: Dave Downer


  • Greg Cundy (Centre Champs)
  • Eddie Bright (Centre Champs and services to the club)
  • Andrew Anson (Services to the Club)
  • Ian Helliwell (Services to the Club)


Male Cyclists of the year                                                                                                   Certificate /Trophy

  • Last Year: Antony Nalder
  • Winner: North Island Series Masters 3 team

Made up of (in alphabetical order):

  • Andrew Anson
  • Greg Cundy
  • James Cummings
  • Mark Humphries
  • Peter Wilkinson
  • Richard Graham
  • These riders can also thank their team manager Eddie Bright who was assisted by Tristan Ratcliffe
  • These guys rode into 3rd place in their first attempt in this sort of race and environment. Teams racing isn’t something we are used to and to place 3rd amongst much more experienced and larger teams was a fantastic achievement that they and we can all be super proud of.


Female Cyclist of the year                                                                                                 Certificate /Trophy        

  • Last year: Grace Saywell
  • Winner: Katie Richards
  • 1st woman at the Lake Wairarapa Cycle Challenge
  • 1st woman at the Vets Two Day Tour
  • Numerous 1sts in the B grade at Southwards
  • 3rd in the Criterium in the A Grade at the Bev May tour and 17th in the A grade overall
  • 4th overall and 1st woman in the Wellington inter-club series
  • 1st in the B grade at the recent Winter Series
  • 1st in the Masters 3 Time Trial at the Wellington Centre Champs
  • 1st in the Masters 3 Road Race at the Wellington Centre Champs
  • 2nd in the Masters 3 Time Trial at the Age Group Nationals in Timaru.
  • 1st in the Masters 3 Road Race at the Age Group Road Nationals.   


Members please login to post comments