Kapiti CC Southwards Criterium Series – Race 6 Results

The grand finale of the six race criterium series around the excellent Southwards Circuit proved as exciting and competitive as the previous five.

Despite the overcast conditions strong fields fronted up in both events, fifteen starters took to the line in event one before setting off aggressively with several early attacks keeping the peloton focussed. Andy Ross, Gill Donald, John Rowlinson, Lisa Horn Glynis M-K and John Pratt all playing a role in keeping the pace high. The 25 minutes plus 2 lap event included U13 schoolboy Oscar Goodwin who not only rode very comfortably in the peloton but actually took to the front to clearly demonstrate his rising talent Well done Oscar.

A late attack enabled Andy Ross to take out the overall honours from a fast finishing John Pratt with Gill Donald (1st Women) taking out the final podium place.


1st Andy Ross

2nd John Pratt

3rd Gill Donald (1st Women)

4th Lisa Horn

5th Glynis Mapei-Kemp

6th John Rowlinson

7th Howard Davies

8th Daniil Moskoutsov

1st U13 Oscar Goodwin (Rider of the day)

Finishing in the peloton:

Mick McKelvey

Clive Brougth

Dianna Borman

Doug Barret

Lyna Moskoutsov

Event Two:

Twelve heavy hitters lined up for their last blast around Southwards for the season headlined by Mike Proudfoot in rampant mood. Once again early attempts to secure a breakaway by Leon Goodwin, Lee Pownall, Cam Jones came to nought. The introduction of primes at 10 and 20 minutes in the 30 minutes plus 2 lap event certainly added spice to the race, Katie Richards took out the first prime with Mike P hot on her heels, Peter Wilkinson took the final point on offer. An attack by Mike P, Cam Jones and Peter Wilkinson quickly developed into the winning move by Mike quickly dropping the other two before soloing away for yet another convincing win by nearly a complete lap of the 700-metre circuit.

Cam Jones finished strongly taking out second from Lee Pownall.

The series proved yet again that it provides excellent race training and tactical awareness. Well done to all the competitors.


1st Mike Proudfoot

2nd Cam Jones

3rd Lee Pownall

4th Dwight Garton

5th Leon Goodwin

6th Jonathan Neal

7th Gary Clareburt

8th Miles Davies

9th Harrison Steadman

10th Katie Richards

11th Adrian McKenzie

Peter Wilkinson DNF

10minute prime:

1st Katie Richards          5  pts

2nd Mike Proudfoot     3 pts

3rd Peter Wilkinson      1 pt

20 minute prime

1st Mike Proudfoot       5 pts

2nd Dwight Garton        3 pts

3rd Katie Richards         1 pt

Overall Primes:

1st Mike Proudfoot       8 pts

2nd Katie Richards         6 pts

3rd Dwight Garton        3 pts

Special thanks to Greg Cundy for not only setting up and taking down the course but importantly acting as series vent manager. Well done Greg.

Thanks also to Mick McKelvey and Glynis M-K for assisting collecting cones etc.

Great team effort.