Howdy folks

A good night was had a couple of weeks ago with the AGM/kew kit launch and prize-giving.

For those that weren't there here's a link to the reports out of the event.

Treasurer's Report

President's Report

There has also been a survey come out in the last few days that was emailed direct to members.  We've had a great result but we want to hear from as many of you as possible - so if you haven't done the survey - please check your emails and respond :)

Results of Prize-Giving

Summer Series Winners:

  • * Males: Dwight Garton
  • * Females:  Glynis Te Maipi-Kemp

Hill Climb Champions:

  • * Males:  Sam Wilkinson
  • * Females:  Janice Hill

Junior Rider of the year:

  • * Special mention to last year's winner Grace Saywell
  • * This year the prize goes to Sam Wilkinson
    • * Sam's been a consistent performer in our A-grade racing.  He has a non nonsense approach and just gets on with things.
    • * Represented the club as the Club Road Nationals in his first outing in the under 19 grade (against older riders)
    • * Won our Hill Climb championships
    • * Top 5 in the Easter Tour

Leadership Award:  This is an award for somebody who sticks their head above the ramparts and leads from the front.

  • * Last year this went to Adam Johnston and Paul Rawlinson for their work coaching the Hope Gibbons Teams
  • * Special mention to Andrew Morrison for his work with the 8:05 group
  • * This year's winner is Eddie Bright
    • * Not only does Eddie coach many very successful riders in the club but he also puts in a huge amount of time motivating and organising the Sunday bunches

Club Spirit Award:  This is given to somebody who freely gives their time to aid the club and generally goes above and beyond the call of duty

  • * Last year's winners were Andy Ross and Mike Watson for the work they did setting up courses
  • * Special mention to John Rowlinson who is always willing to help at events and on rides
  • * This year we're delighted that it goes to Emma Wilkinson
    • * Emma raced most Tuesday nights - but would finish early so she could help run the chute and also helped running registration each Tuesday - both things being something she really enjoys doing

Stu Downs Inspirational Rider of the year award:  This is for someone who inspires others with their actions just as Stu did.

  • * Last year's winner was Adrian McKenzie who rode the lenth of NZ raising $60,000 for the Halberg Disability Sport Foundation
  • * This year's winner is John Pratt
    • * This is for the inspirational way has overcome his battle with cancer.  He's been through both chemo and radiation therapy but came back to not just race again, but excel.  John came 2nd at the Centre Champs and 5th at the Nationals.  His positive attitude throughout has been totally inspirational.

Most Improved Male:

  • * Last year this went to Andrew Anson
  • * Special mention goes to Gary Clareburt, Sam Wilkinson, John Cox and Dwight Garton
  • * This year the winner is Tony Levaggi
    • * Tony was in the form of his life before his unfortunate accident
    • * 4hrs 9 at Taupo
    • * Stepped up to race the interclub series
    • * Riding very strongly on Tuesday nights

Most Improved Female:

  • * This is a new award this year as previously it was the 'most improved rider'.  So in a way - Andrew Anson was last year's winner :)
  • * It was very tough to pick with 2 strong contenders...  Special mention to Gill Donald who also had a fantastic year.
  • * The inaugural winner is Georgie Chadwick
    • * 6hrs 32 at K2
    • * Completed her first Ironman in 12 hrs 12.  Did the bike leg of 180km in 6hrs 23.  Wonderful ride!
    • * 4 hrs 47 at the Taupo Cycle Challenge
    • * Tour of the Bay in 2 hrs 56 (3rd open female)
    • * Competed strongly at the Queens Birthday Tour in Taranaki

 Male Rider of the year:

  • * Last year this was awarded to Neil Harwood
  • * Special mention this year to Antony Nalder, Mike Proudfoot and Dwight Garton
  • * This year's winner was the most improved rider a couple of years back and has just kept on improving.
  • * Congratulations to Gary Clareburt
    • * Qualified strongly for the World Grand Fondo Championships at the Graperide in Blenheim
    • * 1st at the Centre Champs Time Trial
    • * 5th at the World Masters Games Time Trial in Auckland
    • * 4th at the Nationals Time Trial in Cambridge
    • * Strong ride at the Nationals Road Race (the next day after the TT) finishing with the lead bunch
    • * One of the organisers of the Race Day on the Expressway event
    • * 5 years of service to the club on the committee (Gary is leaving the committee this year and was also recognised on the night for his contribution to the club during that time)


 Female Rider of the year:

  • * Last year's winner was Janice Hill
  • * Special mention to Glynis Te Maipi-Kemp and Georgie Chadwick
  • No change from last year with Janice Hill clearly taking out this title again.
    • * Qualified strongly for the World Grand Fondo in a qualifier in Lorne, Australia
    • * 14th in the World Grand Fondo in Perth
    • * 1st in the Centre Champs Road Race
    • * 2nd in the World Masters Games Road Race in Auckland
    • * 3rd at the Nationals Road Race in Cambridge
    • * Key driver and organiser of the new cycling kit